Let Thoreau Give You Some Encouragement

I came across this on Pinterest, a quote from Henry David Thoreau:

“I learned this, at least, by my experiment: that if one advances confidently in the direction of his dreams, and endeavors to live the life which he has imagined, he will meet with a success unexpected in common hours.”

The more I read it, the more I love it – it starts in such a modest way with the assurance this has been proved “by experiment”. Then the sky opens up, you’re shown the stars and told they can all be yours. Just keep following your dream and try to do whatever you aspire to do. The key for me is the phrase “advance confidently” – you can’t just potter along, you have to make progress and you have to have confidence. As I try to untangle plot problems, juggle the many layers of a novel and macro-edit a troublesome first draft, this is a wise friend keeping me on track.

Find this and more Thoreau quotes on Good Reads, my favourite reading forum. In fact, there’s another one right here:

Thoreau Quote

Quote from Henry David Thoreau on Library Way in New York City. Taken on February 28, 2007. Re-posted under CC licence from Wikipedia, Kathleen Conkin

Leave a Reply

