What does success look like (for your scene)?

rocks-801742_960_720

Life has very much intervened with my writing goals this year but instead of getting all down about that I’m celebrating the fact that I am still drawn back to it. Even though I still feel like I’m climbing a mountain and the summit’s not getting any closer, there’s no question of turning round and walking away. I still enjoy re-reading my rough drafts, I still like my characters, I want to finish. It’ll take as long as it takes.

I also find that breaks are good for a sense of perspective on your work when you come to re-read it. Now that I’m picking things back up again, one question has moved me on considerably with each scene: what does success look like for this scene? Before I do any more work on it, I’m sitting back and visualising everything that I wish it to achieve – the main emotional punch, the richness of setting, the advancement of plot, all the character traits I can reveal, plus any other twists and turns and embellishments I can pack in to make it as full an experience as possible. Only when I know what the best version of this scene would accomplish do I start to work on it again. It’s really helping me to make sure every scene has a real purpose and is earning its place in my word-count.

Anyone else got any scene-related tips that have worked well for revising?

Leave a Reply

